Author Topic: [Original] Drawn To Your Scent [NC-17] [FIN] (by Janine)  (Read 333 times)

Offline Janine

• Administrator
  • Supreme VXer
  • Out of my mind. Back in 5 minutes!
    • MySpace
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • VinXperience
[Original] Drawn To Your Scent [NC-17] [FIN] (by Janine)
« on: Wed, Jun 30, 2010, 02:05 PM »
VX 2010 Vampire Fiction Contest -- Entered by Janine//not eligible for the voting

Author: Janine
Title: Drawn To Your Scent
Fandom: Original
Rating: NC-17
Warning: Gore, Murder
Disclaimer: The graveyard isn't mine, and neither are the phrases that had to be used for the story, but the rest is all mine.
Pairing: OMC/OFC
Archive: Only at VX
Authors Notes: Thanks to my lovely beta Bitten for her support and catching my typos!

--

It's late at night, only a few hours away from dawn, and I'm headed back home to my bed. I work as a nurse, night shift most of the time and voluntarily. I've always been a night person and hate day shifts, so my best friend Linda and I almost always trick the duty roster by trading shifts when she's assigned to night shift and I am not. Our boss and the other nurses don't mind too much, especially since they can count on me to trade with them if necessary as long as I get to work past dusk. Sometimes I wonder if they think I'm crazy, but even if they do, I couldn't care less.

A chilly breeze brushes through the streets and I hug myself, snuggling into my jacket. It's only August, but the nights are longer already, and colder, too. I hear the sound of footsteps and laughter, unusual for this time of the night, and I stop in mid-stride, letting my gaze sweep over my surroundings, suddenly feeling insecure.